the Punjab Government, 6,623 persons have been rehabilitated in Khemkaran Sector of Patti Sub-division. Relief and Rehabilitation assistance has been given to these persons in respect of the following items:

(i)	ex-gratia assistantce for loss of damage to crops	•	Rs. 73.59 lakhs
(ii)	Cash doles · · · · · · ·	•	Rs. 43 44 lakhs
(iii)	ad-hoc resettlement grant · ·		Rs. 18.27 lakhs
(iv)	loss of buildings • • • •		Rs. 6·47 lakhs
$\langle \mathbf{v} \rangle$	loss of cattle		Rs. 2.62 lakhs
$\langle vi \rangle$	fodder grant ·		Rs. 22-33 lakhs
(vii)	blankets grant		Rs. 00·18 lakhs
(viii)	utensils grant		Rs. 00.05 lakhs
(ix)	ex-gratia grant •		Rs. 00.71 lakhs
	Total :		Rs. 173.66 lakhs

Admission of Bangladesh into UN

7553. SHRI BIRENDER SINGH RAO: Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the names of the countries which have supported the admission of Bangladesh into the United Nations; and

(b) the names of countries which have been opposing the admission?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRI SURENDRA PAL SINGH): (a) and (b). The admission of any State to membership in the United Nations is effected by a decision of the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Security Council. In August, 1972, the Security Council considered the application of Bangla Desh for membership. The resolution tabled by India. Yugoslavia and U.S.S.R. recommending admission was defeated since China, one of the permanent members of the Security Council, voted against it. Guinea, Somalia and Sudan abstained on the resolution. All the other countries in the Security Council supported it, A Statement giving the names of the members of the Security Council in 1972 is placed below.

The question of admission of Bangla Desh was considered in the UN. General Assembly last year. Two resolutions were adopted including the one calling for admission of Bangladesh to the U.N. Since no vote was taken, it is not possible to say with precision the countries which would have opposed the admission of Bangladesh to the U.N. It is a fact, however, that there was general support for the admission of Bangla Desh, the overwhelming majority of countries at the U.N. having accorded recognition to Bangla Desh by that time (November, 1972).

STATEMENT

MEMBERS OF SECURITY COUNCIL-1972

Ł

- 1. Argentina.
- 2. Belgium.
- 3 China.
- 4. France.
- 5. Guinea.
- 6. India.
- 7. Italy.
- 8. Japan.
- 9. Panama.
- 10. Somalia.
- 11. Sudan

12. Union of Soviet Socialist Republies.

13. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

- 14. United States of America.
- 15. Yugoslavia.

Hindi Kavi Sammelan

7554. SHRI BIRENDER SINGH RAO: Will the Minister of DEFENCE be pleased to state:

(a) the names of the poets who were invited to participate in the Hindi Kavi Sammelan during the Republic Day Celebrations this year; (b) the sale proceeds of tickets of the Kavi Sammelan; and

54

(c) the number and value of tickets issued on this occasion?

THE MINISTER OF DEFENCE (SHRI JAGJIVAN RAM): (a) A statement showing the names of the poets is attached.

(b) Rs. 11.863.

(c) 431 tickets of Rs. 10 cach, 840 tickets of Rs. 5 each, 921 tickets of Rs. 3 each and 295 tickets of Rs. 2 each.

STATEM

*I.	Shri Ramdhari Singh Dinkar	. '						Patna (Bihar)
2.	Dr. Ram Kumar Verma							Pryag (UP)
3.	Shri Sohan Lal Deviwedi •	•						New Delhi
*4.	Shri Bhavani Prasad Mishra							New Delhi
5.	Shri Inderjit Singh Tulshi							New Delhi
6 .	Shri Kul d ip							· Agra (UP)
7.	Shri Gopal Krishan Kaul ·							• Gaziabad (UP)
*8.	Shri Bekal Utsahi		•					• Gonda (UP
9.	Shri Som Thakur 🔸		•					• Agra (UP)
* 10.	Shri Paras Bhramar •		•					• Bahraech (UP)
11.	Shri Ram Nath Awasthi 🔸	•	•	•				· New Delhi
12.	Shri Atma Prakash Shukla		•	•	•	•		· Ata (UP)
13.	Shri Satya Parkash Prakhar	•	•	•	•	•	•	• New Delhi.
14.	Smt. Indumati Kaushik	•	•	•	•	•		• Delhi
15.	Shri Bashir Ahmed Mayukh	•	•	•	•	•		· Kota (Raj)
16.	Shri Santoshanand · ·		•	•	•	•		· New Delhi.
17.	Shri Devraj Dinesh · ·		•	•	•	•		• New Delhi.
:18,	Shri Ramkumar Chaturvedi Ch	anch	al	•	•	•		· Javra (M.P.)
.19.	Shri Uday Partap Singh 🔸	•	•	•	•	•		• Karhal (UP)
20,	Shri Ramavatar Chauhan Shash	ni	•	•	•	•		• Mainpuri (UP)
21.	Shri Narendra Mishra	•	•	•	•	•		· Chittorgarh (Raj)
22.	Shri Tara Prakash Joshi 🔸	•	•	•	•	•		• Jiapur (Rai)
23.	Shri Gajanan Verma 🔹	•	•	•	•	•	•	· Calcutta W.B.
24.	Shri Govind Vyas , 🔸	•	•		•	•	•	• Delhi.

*Did not participate.