GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1011 ANSWERED ON 02.12.2024

TEMPLES UNDER ASI

1011. SHRI TEJASVI SURYA:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the number of functional and non-functional Hindu temples/temple-sites maintained by the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI);
- (b) the details of the list of the number of such functional and non-functional temples, Statewise;
- (c) whether the Government is planning to allow for the rehabilitation and restoration of any non-functional Hindu sites into functional temples;
- (d) if so, a list of such proposals and any details thereof, State-wise; and
- (e) whether the Government has rehabilitated and restored any other temples before, if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF CULTURE AND TOURISM (SHRI GAJENDRA SINGH SHEKHAWAT)

- (a)& There are 3697 ancient monuments and archaeological sites and remains declared as of national importance by and under the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958 in the country. State-wise details are given at Annexure.
- (c)& The Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) maintains these monuments and sites declared
 (d) as of national importance based on their requirement in order to preserve them in their originality and pass them on to the future generations.
 - (e) The temple of Kedarnath, District Rudraprayag, Utarakhand which was damaged due to cloud burst in 2013, was restored by ASI.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1011 FOR 02.12.2024.

STATE-WISE NUMBER OF PROTECTED MONUMENTS AND PROTECTED AREAS IN THE COUNTRY.

Sl.No.	Name of State	Protected Monuments/Areas
1.	Andhra Pradesh	135
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	03
3.	Assam	55
4.	Bihar	70
5.	Chhattisgarh	46
6.	Daman & Diu (U. T.)	11
7.	Goa	21
8.	Gujarat	205
9.	Haryana	91
10.	Himachal Pradesh	40
11.	Jammu & Kashmir (U. T.)	56
12.	Jharkhand	13
13.	Karnataka	506
14.	Kerala	29
15.	Ladakh (U. T.)	15
16.	Madhya Pradesh	291
17.	Maharashtra	286
18.	Manipur	01
19.	Meghalaya	08
20.	Mizoram	01
21.	Nagaland	04
22.	N.C.T. Delhi	173
23.	Odisha	81
24.	Puducherry (U. T.)	07
25.	Punjab	33
26.	Rajasthan	163
27.	Sikkim	03
28.	Telangana	08
29.	Tamil Nadu	412
30.	Tripura	08
31.	Uttar Pradesh	743
32.	Uttarakhand	44
33.	West Bengal	135
	TOTAL	3697