GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 121 ANSWERED ON 03.02.2025

JNVs in Andhra Pradesh

121. Shri B K Parthasarathi: Shri Daggumalla Prasada Rao:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya (JNV) sanctioned and established in Andhra Pradesh till date, district-wise and year-wise;
- (b) the details of the funds sanctioned and released for establishing JNV in Andhra Pradesh during the last five years, year-wise and district-wise;
- (c) the number of under construction JNVs in Andhra Pradesh, district-wise along with the timeline fixed by the Government for making them operational;
- (d) the number of districts in Andhra Pradesh which do not have any JNV; and
- (e) whether the Government has any proposal to set up new JNVs in Andhra Pradesh and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (SHRI JAYANT CHAUDHARY)

(a) to (c) As per information received from Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti, total 15 Navodaya Vidyalayas (NVs) have been sanctioned, till date, in the State of Andhra Pradesh and are functioning from its permanent Vidyalaya building. District-wise and Year-wise details are **annexed**.

The budgetary support is provided to Navodaya Vidyalayas Samiti (NVS) every year as Grants-in-Aid under three distinct Heads of Account viz. Salaries, General and Creation of Capital Assets for opening and functioning of NVs. Funds are not allocated to NVS State/ UT/District-wise. The funds released to NVS during the last five years are as under:

(Rs. in crore)

Financial Year	Funds released	
2019-20	3387.60	
2020-21	3480.00	
2021-22	3740.00	
2022-23	4920.30	
2023-24	5470.00	

(d) & (e) The Navodaya Vidyalaya Scheme envisages for opening of one NV in each district of the country. With sanctioning of 62 new NVs in November 2016, all 638 districts (as on 31st May, 2014) of the States/UTs which have accepted the scheme, other than 6 districts with 100% urban population, have been covered under this scheme. All the districts of Andhra Pradesh (created up to 31.05.2014) have been covered under Navodaya Vidyalaya Scheme. Further, Government of India has recently sanctioned new NVs in 28 newly created/ carved out districts.

Opening of new NVs is a continuous process which depends on the willingness of the concerned State Government/UT administration to make available requisite suitable land, free of cost, for construction of the permanent building and making available required temporary building, free of rent, to run the Vidyalaya till the permanent building is constructed. Sanction and opening of new NVs depends on approval by the competent authority as per extant procedures.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) TO (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 121 RAISED BY SHRI B K PARTHASARATHI AND SHRI DAGGUMALLA PRASADA RAO, HON'BLE MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT ANSWERED ON 03.02.2025 REGARDING JNVs IN ANDHRA PRADESH.

Year wise details of NVs sanctioned in the State of Andhra Pradesh

S. No.	NV (Distict)	Year of Sanction	Building Status
1	Sri Sathya Sai (Old Anantapur)	1987-88	
2	Annamayya ** (Old Chittoor)	1986-87	
3	Kakinada (Old East Godavari – I) *	1987-88	
4	Alluriseetharama Raju (Old East Godavari – II) (ST Concentrated) *	2009-10	
5	Palnadu (Old Guntur)	1987-88	
6	Annamayya ** (Old YSR Kadapa)	1987-88	
7	Krishna	1989-90	Permanent Building
8	Kurnool	1987-88	
9	Nellore	1986-87	
10	Prakasham – I	1987-88	
11	Prakasham – II (SC Concentrated)	2009-10	
12	Srikakulam	1987-88	
13	Visakhapatnam	1987-88	
14	Vizianagaram	1988-89	
15	Eluru (Old West Godavari)	1988-89	

^{*} The erstwhile East Godavari district was having 02 NVs, one as per the normal scheme and an additional second NV as ST concentrated district. After carving out of new districts, boundaries of 1st NV which was under normal scheme falls in new District i.e. Kakinada. The second NV which was sanctioned for ST concentrated district of East Godavari falls in newly carved out district Alluri Sitharamaraju.

^{**} Annamayya district has been carved out from erstwhile YSR (Kadappa) and Chittoor Districts. Both the existing NVs of these two districts fall within the boundary of newly carved out Annamayya district.