GOVERNMENT OF INDIA CIVIL AVIATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:229 ANSWERED ON:24.07.2000 AIR BUS SERVICES TO STATE CAPITALS TRILOCHAN KANUNGO

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:

(a) the names of the State Capitals which are not connected to National Capital Delhi by direct air flight;

(b) the profit and loss of each of the flights during 1997-98, 1998-99 and 1999-2000, State wise;

(c) the names of the State Capitals which are connected by Air Bus Services to the National Capital Delhi and the profit earned and loss suffered during each of the years of 1997-98, 1998-99 and 1999-2000;

(d) the names of the State Capitals for which Air bus services were discontinued during the last five years; and

(e) the reasons therefor?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF CIVIL AVIATION (SHRI SHARAD YADAV)

(a), (b) and (c): A statement showing the names of State Capitals with direct flights to Delhi by Airbus servics, as well as airlinked and those not connected to Delhi is annexed.

It is not possible to seperately work out, flight wise and state wise information on flight economics (profit/loss) as route network provides airlinks in an integrated manner and many of these services consist of flights serving more than one destination enroute located in different states.

(d) and (e): Indian Airlines has discontinued services by Airbus aircraft to Jaipur and Chandigarh during the last five years due to route rationalisation/restructuring on the network.

Annexure

State Capitals not directly airlinked with Delhi

Sta	te Capit	tal Conne	Connected via		
	-	-			
1. Mizoram		Aizwal Calcutta			
2.	Nagaland	Kohima	Calcutta		
(Dimapur)					
3.	Tripura	Agartala	Calcutta/Guwahati		

State Capitals not airlinked

-				
State		Capital	Nearest	airport
1.	- Arunachal Pradesh	Itanaga	r	Tezpur
2.	Meghalaya	Shillong		Guwahati
3.	Sikkim	Gangtol	< c	Bagdogra

State Capitals airlinked with Delhi by Airbus

2. 3. 4.	Andhra Pradesh Assam Bihar Goa Gujarat (Ahmedabad)	Hyderabad Dispur(Guwahati) Patna Panji(Goa) Gandhi Nagar
	Jammu & Kashmir	Srinagar
/.	Karnataka	Bangalore
8.	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram
9.	Maharashtra	Mumbai
10.	Manipur	Imphal
11.	Orissa	Bhubneshwar
12.	Tamilnadu	Chennai
13.	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow
14.	West Bengal	Calcutta