## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:108 ANSWERED ON:10.03.2005 NEW FM RADIO POLICY

Purandeswari Smt. Daggubati;Sippiparai Shri A. Ravichandran

## Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of FM Radio presently broadcasting in the country by AIR and private companies State-wise;
- (b) whether the Government is considering to formulate New FM Radio Policy; (
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) the time by which it is likely to be announced;
- (e) whether the Government is also considering enhancement of FDI limit from 26 to 49% in order to double the reach of FM radio from 30 to 60 per cent during the Tenth Five Year Plan; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof?

## Answer

THE MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING AND CULTURE (SHRIS. JAIPAL REDDY)

(a) to (f): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) TO (f) OF THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 108 FOR 10TH MARCH, 2005 REGARDING NEW FM RADIO POLICY

- (a) Presently, 139 AIR and 21 FM Private radio stations are broadcasting in the country. The State-wise details are at Annexure.
- (b) to (d) A new policy for private FM Radio broadcasting is under consideration of the Government and no final decision has yet been taken, for which no time frame can be indicated.
- (e) & (f) New policy framework for private FM radio broadcasting would include various aspects including FDI. As per the existing policy, no FDI is permitted in the companies holding FM radio licenses.

## **ANNEXURE**

ANNEXURE AS REFERRED TO ON REPLY TO PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 108 FOR 10TH MARCH, 2005 REGARDING NEW FM RADIO POLICY

Sl.No. Name of the State/UT No. of FM Radio Station

AIR Private FM Station

```
1 Andhra Pradesh 10
                      1
2 Assam 5
         3
3 Bihar
4 Chhatisgarh 3
5 Delhi
6 Goa
7 Gujarat 5 1
8 Haryana 2 -
9 Himachal Pradesh 4
10 Jammu & Kashmir
                 7
11 Jharkhand 5
12 Karnataka 13
13 Kerala 6
14 Madhya Pradesh 11
15 Maharashtra 15
16 Meghalaya 1
```

```
17 Mizoram 1 -
18 Nagaland 1 -
19 Orissa 5 -
20 Punjab 3 -
21 Rajasthan 11 -
22 Tamil Nadu 6 4
23 Tripura 2 -
24 Union Territory 3 -
25 Uttar Pradesh 7 1
26 Uttaranchal 1 -
27 West Bengal 6 4
```

Total 139 21