GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRO AND RURAL INDUSTRIES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:309 ANSWERED ON:02.03.2005 NATIONAL PROGRAMME ON RURAL INDUSTRIALISATION Sippiparai Shri A. Ravichandran

Will the Minister of AGRO AND RURAL INDUSTRIES be pleased to state:

- (a): whether the Union Government has launched a National Programme on Rural Industrialisation (NPRI) in the year 2001-02;
- (b): if so, the details thereof;
- (c): the total number of rural industrial clusters set up under the programme, State-wise, as on December 31, 2004;
- (d): the total financial assistance/subsidy given for setting up these industrial clusters; and
- (e): the total amount sanctioned and spent under the programme as on December 31, 2004?

Answer

MINISTER OF SMALL SCALE INDUSTRIES & AGRO AND RURAL INDUSTRIES (SHRI MAHABIR PRASAD)

- (a): Yes, Sir.
- (b): The Government launched the National programme on Rural Industrialisation (NPRI) in 2001-02. The Programme provides for extending financial assistance upto Rs. 5 lakh per rural industrial cluster for promotional interventions, e.g., diagnostic study, demonstration and development of modern tools & kits and other technical inputs, training and strengthening of the non-Government organization/cluster agent, setting up of Common Facility Centre, conducting seminars, workshops, training programmes, etc., required for development of the selected clusters.
- (c): The total number of rural industrial clusters taken up for development under the Programme, State-wise, as on December 31, 2004 is given in the Annexure enclosed.
- (d)&(e): An amount of Rs. 18.19 lakh has been sanctioned and spent under the Programme as on December 31, 2004.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN THE REPLY OF PARTS (c) IN RESPECT OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 309 FOR ANSWER ON 2ND MARCH, 2005.

STATE-WISE NUMBER OF CLUSTERS UNDER THE NATIONAL PROGRAMME ON RURAL INDUSTRIALISATION

```
Sl.No. Name of State \, Number of Rural Industrial Clusters taken up for development
```

1 Assam 4
2 Bihar 1
3 Haryana 4
4 Himachal Pradesh
5 Maharashtra 1
6 Orissa 3
7 Rajasthan 2