## **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA**

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:314 ANSWERED ON:07.07.2009 FM RADIO STATIONS Ramasubbu Shri S.

3. Assam 5

5. Chhattisgarh 4

4. Bihar 4

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:
(a) the number of All India Radio FM stations and Private FM Radio Stations presently operating in the country, State-wise;
(b) whether the Government proposes to issue new licence to the private players in this sector;
(c) if so, the details thereof and the number of FM radio channels likely to be added in the next three years, State-wise including Tamil Nadu;
(d) the total revenue likely to be generated as a result thereof;
(e) whether the Government also proposes to allow any concessions to those channels; and
(f) if so, the details thereof?
Answer
THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING (SHRI C. M. JATUA)
(a): At present a total of 171 AIR FM Transmitters and 248 Private FM Radio Stations are operational in the country, details of which are given in Annexure-I and Annexure-II, respectively.
(b) & (c): TRAI have sent their recommendations on Phase-III of FM radio expansion.
(d) Cannot be predicted presently.
(e) No, Sir.
(f) Does not arise.
Annexure-I
ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 314 FOR ANSWER ON $07/07/2009$
Sl. No. State Total
1. Andhra Pradesh 13
2. Arunachal Pradesh 1

6. Delhi 2 7 Goa 1 8. Gujarat 5 9. Haryana 3 10. Himachal Pradesh 4 11. Jammu & Kashmir 8 12. Jharkhand 5 13. Karnataka 14 14. Kerala 7 15. Madhya Pradesh 13 16. Maharashtra 17 17. Manipur 1 18. Meghalaya 2 19. Mizoram 2 20. Nagaland 2 21. Orissa 7 22. Punjab 3 23. Rajasthan 12 24. Sikkim 0

25. Tamil Nadu 9

26. Tripura 3

```
27. Uttarakhand 1
28. Uttar Pradesh 10
29. West Bengal 8
Total 171
Annexure-II
ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLYTO PART (a) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 314 FOR ANSWER ON 07-
07-2009.
Existing Private FM Stations
Sl.No. State Total
1 Andhra Pradesh 13
2 Arunachal Pradesh 1
3. Assam 4
4 Bihar 2
5 Chhattisgarh 5
6 Delhi 8
7 Goa 3
8 Gujarat 16
9 Haryana 6
10 Himachal Pradesh -
11 Jammu & Kashmir 2
12 Jharkhand 7
13 Karnataka 14
```

14 Kerala 17

15 Madhya Pradesh 16

16 Maharashtra 31

17 Manipur -

18 Meghalaya 2

19 Mizoram -

20 Nagaland -

21 Orissa 5

22 Punjab 12

23 Rajasthan 19

24 Sikkim 2

25 Tamil Nadu 21

26 Tripura 1

27 Uttarakhand -

28 Uttar Pradesh 21

29 West Bengal 15

30 Union Territory 5

Total 248