Title: Motion regarding reference of Central Vigilance Commission Bill, 1999 to Joint Committee. (Motion Adopted).

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF SMALL SCALE INDUSTRIES, AGRO AND RURAL INDUSTRIES, MINISTER OF STATE IN THE DEPARTMENT OF PERSONNEL AND TRAINING, DEPARTMENT OF PENSIONS AND PENSIONERS WELFARE OF THE MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE DEPARTMENTS OF ATOMIC ENERGY AND SPACE(SHRIMATI VASUNDHARA RAJE): Sir, I beg to move:

"That the Bill to provide for the constitution of a Central Vigilance Commission to inquire or cause inquiries to be conducted into offences alleged to have been committed under the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 by certain categories of public servants of the Central Government, corporations established by or under any Central Act, Government companies, societies and local authorities owned or controlled by the Central Government and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely:-

- 1. Shri Raashid Alvi
- 2. Shri Pawan Kumar Bansal
- 3. Shri R.L. Bhatia
- 4. Shri Samar Chowdhury
- 5. Shrimati Bhavnaben Chikhalia
- 6. Shri Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi
- 7. Shri Anant Mahadeoappa Gudhe
- 8. Maj. Gen. (Retd.) Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri
- 9. Shri C. Kuppuswamy
- 10. Shri Bhartruhari Mahatab
- 11. Shri M.V.V.S. Murthy
- 12. Shri P.H. Pandiyan
- 13. Shri Sharad Pawar
- 14. Shri Anadi Charan Sahu
- 15. Dr. Nitish Sengupta
- 16. Shri Maheshwar Singh
- 17. Shri Raghuvansh Prasad Singh
- 18. Shri Balaram Singh Yadav
- 19. Shri Devendra Prasad Yadav
- 20. Shrimati Vasundhara Raje

and 10 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the first week of the next Session;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 10 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

"That the Bill to provide for the constitution of a Central Vigilance Commission to inquire or cause inquiries to be conducted into offences alleged to have been committed under the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 by certain categories of public servants of the Central Government, corporations established by or under any Central Act, Government companies, societies and local authorities owned or controlled by the Central Government and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely:-

- 2. Shri Pawan Kumar Bansal
- 3. Shri R.L. Bhatia
- 4. Shri Samar Chowdhury
- 5. Shrimati Bhavnaben Chikhalia
- 6. Shri Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi
- 7. Shri Anant Mahadeoappa Gudhe
- 8. Maj. Gen. (Retd.) Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri
- 9. Shri C. Kuppuswamy
- 10. Shri Bhartruhari Mahatab
- 11. Shri M.V.V.S. Murthy
- 12. Shri P.H. Pandiyan
- 13. Shri Sharad Pawar
- 14. Shri Anadi Charan Sahu
- 15. Dr. Nitish Sengupta
- 16. Shri Maheshwar Singh
- 17. Shri Raghuvansh Prasad Singh
- 18. Shri Balaram Singh Yadav
- 19. Shri Devendra Prasad Yadav
- 20. Shrimati Vasundhara Raje

and 10 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee:

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the first week of the next Session;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 10 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

The motion was adopted.