Title: Motion regarding constitution of Joint Committee on Offices of Profit.

THE MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AND MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE (SHRI RAVI SHANKAR PRASAD): I beg to move:-

"That a Joint Committee of the Houses to be called the Joint Committee on Offices of Profit be constituted consisting of fifteen members, ten from this House and five from the Rajya Sabha, who shall be elected from amongst the Members of each House in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote:

That the functions of the Joint Committee shall be -

- (i) to examine the composition and character of all existing "committees" [other than those examined by the Joint Committee to which the Parliament (Prevention of Disqualification) Bill, 1957 was referred] and all "committees" that may hereafter be constituted, membership of which may disqualify a person for being chosen as, and for being, a Member of either Houses of Parliament under article 102 of the Constitution;
- (ii) to recommend in relation to the "committees" examined by it what offices should disqualify and what offices should not disqualify;
- (iii) to scrutinize, from time to time, the Schedule to the Parliament (Prevention of Disqualification) Act, 1959, and to recommend any amendments in the said Schedule, whether by way of addition, omission or otherwise;

That the Joint Committee shall, from time to time, report to both Houses of Parliament in respect of all or any of the aforesaid matters;

That the Members of the Joint Committee shall hold office for the duration of the present Lok Sabha;

That in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee, the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of Members of the Committee;

That in other respects, the rules of procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees will apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

That this House recommends to the Rajya Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do join in the said Joint Committee and to communicate to this House the names of the Members to be appointed by the Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

HON. SPEAKER: The question is:

"That a Joint Committee of the Houses to be called the Joint Committee on Offices of Profit be constituted consisting of fifteen members, ten from this House and five from the Rajya Sabha, who shall be elected from amongst the Members of each House in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote:

That the functions of the Joint Committee shall be -

- (i) to examine the composition and character of all existing "committees" [other than those examined by the Joint Committee to which the Parliament (Prevention of Disqualification) Bill, 1957 was referred] and all "committees" that may hereafter be constituted, membership of which may disqualify a person for being chosen as, and for being, a Member of either Houses of Parliament under article 102 of the Constitution;
- (ii) to recommend in relation to the "committees" examined by it what offices should disqualify and what offices should not disqualify;
- (iii) to scrutinize, from time to time, the Schedule to the Parliament (Prevention of Disqualification) Act, 1959, and to recommend any amendments in the said Schedule, whether by way of addition, omission or otherwise;

That the Joint Committee shall, from time to time, report to both Houses of Parliament in respect of all or any of the aforesaid matters;

That the Members of the Joint Committee shall hold office for the duration of the present Lok Sabha;

That in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee, the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of Members of the Committee;

That in other respects, the rules of procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees will apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

That this House recommends to the Rajya Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do join in the said Joint Committee and to communicate to this House the names of the Members to be appointed by the Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

...(Interruptions)