to operations of the Regulatory Authority with respect to which no express provision has been made in these instructions, shall be referred to the Central Government whose decision shall be binding on the Regulatory Authority.

National Media Policy

2966. SHRI N.K. PREMCHANDRAN:

SHRI AJIT JOGI:

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government propose to formulate and announce a new national media policy; and

(b) if so, the details thereof and the time by which it is likely to be announced and implemented?

THE MINISTER OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING AND MINISTER OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRIMATI SUSHMA SWARAJ): (a) and (b) The Government feels that there is a need to evolve a National Media Policy with a view to integrating the advances in various fields of media in order to bring a cohesiveness of purpose, keeping in view our societal needs and cultural values.

In this connection a Working Paper on National Media Policy had been prepared by a Sub-Committee of the Consultative Committee of MPs attached to this Ministry. The paper was under consideration of the Consultative Committee for taking a view in this regard.

As the matter remains under consideration, no definitive indication regarding the time is possible.

Loans from Power Production Development Fund

2967. SHRI GORDHANBHAI JADAVBHAI JAVIYA:

SHRI AJAY CHAKRABORTY:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

(a) whether loans from Power Production Development Fund were advanced to major industrial houses in the private sector engaged in power production during the last few years;

(b) If so, the details of the loans outstanding at the end of March, 1998;

(c) whether the Government have prescribed any time limit for the payment of loan;

(d) if so, the details thereof; and

(e) the amount of loan made available by the Government from the Power Production Development Fund for the research and development work in the field of power production under the private sector during the last three years?

THE MINISTER OF POWER (SHRI P.R. KUMARA-MANGALAM): (a) There is no fund called the Power Production Development fund. (b) to (e) Do not arise.

Grant to I.C.H.R.

2968. SHRI G. GANGA REDDY:

DR. Y.S. RAJA SEKARA REDDY:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) the total grant provided to the Indian Council of Historical Research (I.C.H.R.) during the last five years, yearwise;

(b) the details of the activities of the Council including Research Papers/Study Reports brought out by it during the said period;

(c) the number of senior Administrative and Research Officers employed by the Council;

(d) whether some historians have recently been appointed to the Council; and

(e) if so, their names, qualifications and the reasons for their appointments?

THE MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT AND MINISTER OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (DR. MURLI MANOHAR JOSHI): (a) The total grant provided to the Indian Council of Historical Research during the last 5 years is as below:

Year	Rs. in lakhs
1993-94	173.99
1994-95	180.37
1995-96	186.53
1996-97	194. 5 5
1997-98	218.69

(b) The I.C.H.R. sponsors historical research programmes and projects and assists institutions engaged in historical research. It also awards fellowships and provides publication subsidy to scholars to publish their findings. The Council also acts as a nodal point for implementation of Cultural Exchange Programmes in the field of research of History between India and other countries. The Council has brought out 44 publications including journals during the period 1993-94 to 1997-98.

(c) The number of Senior Administrative and Research Officer currently in the Council is 19, which comprise Member-Secretary, Director, Deputy Directors and Assistant Directors.

(d) and (e) Rule 3 of the Rules of ICHR empowers the

Government to nominate *inter alia* 18 historians to the Council. On the expiry of the term of the previous Council, the following historians have been nominated to the Council under the said Rule:-

Prof. Amitabh Mukherjee 1. Prof. Dharmpal 2. Prof. B.R. Kamble 3 Prof. Chandrasekhar 4 5. Prof. M.G.S. Narayanan Prof. B.B. Lal 6. 7. Prof. K.S. Lai 8. Prof. B.P. Sinha Q Prof. A.R. Khan 10. Prof. B.R. Grover 11. Prof. Satish Mittal 12. Prof. (Mrs.) Mani Kamerkar Dr. M.L.K. Murthy 13 14. Prof. S.S. Hans 15. Prof. Hari Om 16. Prof. H.K. Barapujari 17. Prof. Pritoal Bhatia 18. Prof. D.N. Tripathi **Electronic Telephone Exchange** 2969. SHRI MANIKRAO HODLYA GAVIT: SHRI ANAND RATNA MAURYA: SHRI RAJO SINGH: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state: (a) the number of manual and electronic telephone exchanges functioning at present in the country. State-wise and U.T.-wise; the number of manual telephone exchanges (b) proposed to be converted into electronic telephone exchanges during 1998-99, State-wise and U.T.-wise; (c) the estimated expenditure involved in conversion of these exchanges; and (d) the time by which all the telephone exchanges are likely to be electronified? THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI KABINDRA PURKAYASTHA): (a) There is no manual exchange functioning in the Country.

The details of electronic exchanges functioning in the country at present, State-wise and U.T.-wise are given in the Statement attached.

(b) and (c) Does not arise in view of (a) above.

(d) All the electro-mechanical telephone exchanges are likely to be electronised by March 2000 subject to availability of equipment, funds and other resources.

Statement

Number of Electronic Telephone Exchanges functioning in the country

		No. of Electronic No. of Manua	
		Exchanges	Exchanges
		1	2
A .	States		
1.	Andhra Pradesh	2004	Nil
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	70	Nil
З.	Assam	319	Ni
4.	Bihar	851	Ni
5.	Gujarat	1692	Nil
6.	Haryana _.	788	Ni
7.	Himachal Pradesh	611	Ni
8.	J&K	246	Ni
9 .	Kerala	800	Nil
10.	Karnataka	2164	Nil
11.	Madhya Pradesh	2725	Nil
12.	Maharashtra	2763	NI
13.	Manipur	30	Nil
14.	Meghalaya	45	Nil
15.	Mizoram	41	Nil
16.	Nagaland	35	Nil
17.	Orissa	759	Nil
18.	Pun;ab	1001	Nil
19.	Rajasthan	1623	Nil
20 .	Sikkim	25	Nit
21.	Tamil Nadu	1487	Nil
22 .	Tripura	50	Nil
23.	Uttar Pradesh	2083	Nil
24.	West Bengal	832	Nil