3

Shri Santosh Bharitiya (Farrukhabad)

Ch. Multan Singh (Jalesar)

Shri Ramji Lal Suman (Firosabad)

Shri Ajay Singh (Agra)

Shri Satya Pal Malik (Aligarh)

Shri Bhagwan Dass (Khurja)

Shri Kishan Chand Tyagi (Hapur)

Shri Harish Pal (Meerut)

Shri Har Pal (Kairana)

Shri Inderjeet (Darjeeling)

Shri Palas Barman (Balarghat)

Shri Abdul Barkat Ataul Ghani Khan Chaudhury (Malda)

Shri Manoranjan Sur (Basirhat)

Shrimati Gita Mukherjee (Panskura)

Shri Salagala Benjamin (Bapatla)

Shri Ganendra Reddy (Chittoor)

Shri Y.S. Raja Sekhar Reddy (Cuddapah)

Shri Simon Marandi (Rajmahal)

Shri Shailendra Mahatao (Jamshedpur)

Shri C.K. Jaffer Sharief (Bangalore North)

Shri Purohit Banwarilal Bhagwandas (Nagpur)

Shri P. Chidambaram (Sivaganga)

Shri Har Govind (Amroha)

MR. SPEAKER: Is there any other Member who wants to take the oath?... There being none, now we take up the Motion for the election of the Speaker.

12.10 hrs.

ELECTION OF SPEAKER

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Devi Lal may now move the motion standing in his name.

[Translation]

THE DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE (SHRI DEVI LAL): Mr. Speaker, Sir, with your permission, I beg to move:

"That Shri Rabi Ray, a Member of this House, be chosen as the speaker of this House".

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Manubhai Kotadia may second the motion.

[Translation]

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF WATER RESOURCES (SHRI MANUBHAI KOTADIA): Sir, I second the motion moved by Shri Devi Lal.

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Sharad Yadav may now move the motion standing in his name.

[Translation]

THE MINISTER OF TEXTILES AND MINISTER OF FOOD PROCESSING INDUSTRIES (SHRI SHARAD YADAV): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri Rabi Ray, a Member of this House, be chosen as the speaker of this House".

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Shri George Fernandes may second the motion.

[Translation]

THE MINISTER OF RAILWAYS (SHRI GEORGE FERNANDES): Mr. Speaker, Sir, I second the motion.

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Shri L.K. Advani may now the motion standing in his name.

AN HON, MEMBER: He is not there.

SHRI KAMALNATH (Chhindwara): Is the BJP withdrawing the motion since Mr. Advani is not there? (*Interruptions*) Only the mover of the motion can move it. (*Interrup*tions)

[Translation]

SHRIMATI VIJAYA RAJE SCINDIA (Guna): I beg to move (Interruptions).

[English]

SHRI KAMALNATH: Mr. Advani has to move the motion. We cannot go by proxy. Is the BJP supporting it or opposing it? This is not in the capacity of the individual member; this is in the capacity of the party. Are they supporting it or opposing it? It is very simple. (Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: Mr. Advani is out of town. Therefore, that motion cannot be moved in his name. Shri Indrajit Gupta may now move the motion standing in his name.

SHRI INDRAJIT GUPTA (Midnapore): I beg to move the following:

"That Shri Rabi Ray, a Member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Amar Roy Pradhan may second the motion.

SHRI AMAR ROY PRADHAN (Cooch Behar): I second the motion moved by Shri Indrajit Gupta.

MR. SPEAKER: Motion moved by Shri Devi Lal:

"That Shri Rabi Ray, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

Motion moved by Shri Sharad Yadav:

"That Shri Rabi Ray, a member, of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

Motion moved by Shri Indrajit Gupta:

"That Shri Rabi Ray, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

All the motions are before the House. Now I shall put the first motion moved by Shri Devi Lal and seconded by Shri Manubhai Kotadia to the vote of the House. The question is:

"That Shri Rabi Ray, a Member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

The motion was adopted

MR. SPEAKER: The Motion is unanimously adopted.

I declare Shri Rabi Ray duly elected as the Speaker of this House. Now I have great pleasure in inviting Shri Rabi Ray to occupy the Chair.

(Shri Rabi was conducted to the Chair by the Prime Minister, The Deputy Prime Minister, The Leader of the opposition, Shri P. Upendra, Shrimati Vijaya Raje Scindia, Shri Somnath Chatterjee and Shri Indrajit Gupta)

12.17 hrs.

[MR. SPEAKER (SHRI RABI RAY) in the Chaid