1

2

LOK SABHA

Wednesday, January 16, 1985/Pausa 26, 1906, (Saka)

The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock

[THE SPEAKER pro tem (SHRI JAGJIVAN RAM) in the Chair]

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Secretary-General may call out names of members who have not yet taken the oath or made the affirmation.

MEMBERS SWORN

Shri Arif Mohd. Khan (Bahraich)

Shri K.P. Singh Deo (Dhenkanal)

Shri Ramdeo Rai (Samastipur)

Shri Daulatsinhji Jadeja (Jamnagar)

Shri Dalbir Singh (Sirsa)

Shri T.V. Chandrasekharappa (Shimoga)

Shri G. Devaraya Naik (Kanara)

Shri Martand Singh (Rewa)

Shri Dileep Singh Bhuria (Jhabua)

Shri D.B. Shingda (Dahanu)

Shri Giridhar Gamango (Koraput)

Shri Nar Bahadur Bhandari (Sikkim)

Shri Harish Rawat (Almora)

Shri Manik Sanyal (Jalpaiguri)

Shri Manoranjan Halder (Mathurapur)

Shri B.V. Desai (Raichur)

MR. SPEAKER: Any Member who is present and has not taken his oath may now come and take the oath—There is nobody.

We go to the next item.

11.11 hrs.

ELECTION OF SPEAKER

[English]

THE PRIME MINISTER (SHRI RAJIV GANDHI): I beg to move:

"That Shri Bal Ram, a Member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

THE MINISTER OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (SHRI H.K.L. BHAGAT): I second the motion.

MR. SPEAKER: Shri Shyam Lal Yadav may now move the Motion standing in his name.

[Translation]

SHRI SHYAM LAL YADAV (Varanasi): Hon. Speaker, Sir I beg to move:

"That Shri Bal Ram, a Member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

[English]

SHRI VAKKOM PURUSHOTHAMAN (Alleppey): I second the Motion.