tasks, as I said earlier, await us. These can be tackled only through constructive, purposeful cooperation. Together, let us pledge to serve our people with dedication and devotion and to work for the greater glory of our motherland.

Thank you once again for what you have said.

12.08 hrs.

INTRODUCTION OF MINISTERS

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Now, I would like the Prime Minister to introduce the Members of his Cabinet.

THE PRIME MINISTER (SHRI RAJIV GANDHI): Mr. Speaker, Sir, I would like to introduce the members of my Cabinet:

Shri P.V. Narasimha Rao

Shri S.B. Chavan

Shri Vishwanath Pratap Singh

Shri Abdul Gafoor

Shri Asoke Sen

Shri B. Shankaranand

Shri Bansi Lal

Shri Buta Singh

Shri H.K.L. Bhagat

Shri K.C. Pant

Shrimati Mohsina Kidwai

Rao Birendra Singh

Shri Vasant Sathe

Shri Veerendra Patil

Minister of Defence

Minister of Home Affairs

Minister of Finance and also to hold temporary charge of Commerce and Supply.

Minister of Works and Housing

Minister of Law and Justice

Minister of Irrigation and Power

Minister of Railways

Minister of Agriculture and Rural Develop-

ment

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

Minister of Education

Minister of Health and Family Welfare

Minister of Food and Civil Supplies

Minister of Steel, Mines and Coal

Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers and also to hold temporary charge of Industry

and Company Affairs

Now, Ministers of State holding independent charge:

Shrimati Maragatham Chandrasekhar

Minister of State of the Ministry of Social and Women's Welfare.

Shri Nawal Kishore Sharma

Minister of State of the Ministry of Petroleum.

23	Introduction of Ministers	<b>JANUARY 16, 1985</b>	Introduction of Ministers
----	---------------------------	-------------------------	---------------------------

24

Shri Ram Niwas Mirdha	Minister of State of the Ministry of Com- munications.
Shri T. Anjiah	Minister of State of the Ministry of Labour.
Shri V.N. Gadgil	Minister of  State of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.
Shri Z.R. Ansari	Minister of State of the Ministry of Ship- ping and Transport
Ministers of State are:	
1. Shri Arif Mohd. Khan	Minister of State in the Ministry of Industry and Company Affairs.
2. Shri Arun Nehru	Minister of State in the Department of Power.
3. Shri Ashok Gehlot	Minister of State in the Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation.
4. Shri Bir Sen	Minister of State in the Ministry of Environment and Forests.
5. Shri Chandulal Chandrakar	Minister of State in the Department of Rural Development.
6. Shri Ghulam Nabi Azad	Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.
7. Shri H.R. Bhardwaj	Minister of State in the Ministry of Law and Justice.
8. Shri Janardhana Poojary	Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance.
9. Shri Khurshid Alam Khan	Minister of State in the Ministry of External Affairs.
10. Shri K.P. Singh Deo	Minister of State in the Departments of Personnel and Administrative Reforms and Culture.
11. Shri K.R. Narayanan	Minister of State in the Ministry of Plan- ning.
12. Shri Madhavrao Scindia	Minister of State in the Ministry of Railways.
13. Shrimati Margaret Alva	Minister of State in the Ministry of Parlia- mentary Affairs.

14. Shri Natwar Singh

Minister of State in the Department of

Steel.

15. Shri P.A. Sangma

25

Minister of State in the Ministry of Commerce and Supply.

16. Shri R.K. Jaichandra Singh

Minister of State in the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports.

17. Shrimati Ram Dulari Sinha

Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs.

18. Shri Shivraj V. Patil

Minister of State in the Ministry of Science and Technology and in the Departments of Ocean Development; Atomic Energy, Space and Electronics.

19. Shri Yogendra Makwana

Minister of State in the Department of Health.

We have two Parliamentary Secretaries. They are:

1. Shri Oscar Fernandes

Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister.

2. Shri Ahmed Patel

Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister.

SHRI ERASU AYYAPU REDDY (Kurnool): Mr. Speaker, Sir, on a Point of Order on a Constitutional question. We saw the other day that oath was being administered not individually to the Ministers but it was administered simultaneously. Is this permissible under the Constitution? Even in this august House, here, oath was not administered like that. It was not permitted ever since 1952.

SHRI K.P. UNNIKRISHNAN (Badagara): That is not correct. We can discuss it separately. We have to discuss it separately. So, please do not say like that.

MR. SPEAKER: No. Hon. Member, you must realise that what concerns us is what happens on the floor of the House and whatever we have conducted on the floor of this House has been according to the rules and regulations. Don't worry about it.

MR. SPEAKER: Yes, separately it can be. With whatever we are concerned, we can discuss it later on. But I am concerned only with whatever takes place here.

SHRI ERASU AYYAPU REDDY: It is a constitutional question.

SHRI SUDINI JAIPAL REDDY (Mahbubnagar): Let us discuss it later on.

## (Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: No. We are not. We are concerned with what happens in this House.

MR. SPEAKER: You can give me anything in writing. We shall see.

SHRI SUDINI JAIPAL REDDY: They could have been introduced en masse to the House. Why have they been introduced to us separately? That is my point of order.

MR. SPEAKER: Is this a point of order? You must learn, you see.

Now the House stands adjourned to meet again tomorrow the 17th January, 1985 half an hour after the President's Address.

12.14 hrs.

The Lok Sabha then adjourned till half an hour after the Address by the President on Thursday, January 17, 1985 | Pausa 27, 1906 (Saka).