LOK SABHA DEBATES

Vol. I First day of the First Session of the Seventh Lok Sabha

No. 1

,

LOK SABHA

Monday, January 21, 1980/Magha 1, 1901 (Saka)

The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock.

[THE SPEAKER pro tem (SHBI JAGJIVAN RAM) in the Chair]

OBSERVANCE OF SILENCE

MR SPEAKER: We meet today on a solemn occasion. A new Lok Sabha has been elected under the Constitution charged with great and heavy responsibilities for the welfare of the country and our people.

It is fit and proper that, as is customary on such an occasion, we all stand in silence for a short while before we begin our proceedings.

The Members then stood in silence for a short while.

11.02 hrs.

LIST OF MEMBERS ELECTED TO LOK SABHA

LAID ON THE TABLE

SECRETARY: Sir, I lay on the Table a Book, presented to the Speaker by the Chief Election Commissioner, containing the list of Members elected to the Lok Sabha at the general election of 1980

PANEL OF CHAIRMEN

MR SPEAKER: I have to inform the House that under Rule 9 of the Rules of Procedure, I have nominated the following Members as members of the Panel of Chairmen:—

- (1) Shri Tridib Chaudhuri
- (2) Shri Jagannath Rao
- (3) Shri F. H. Mohsin

11.04 hrs.

RESIGNATION BY MEMBERS

MR. SPEAKER: I have to inform the House that on 15 January, 1980, the Speaker received a letter from Shri Dharam Singh, an elected Member from Gulbarga constituency of Karnataka, resigning his seat in Lok Sabha. The Speaker accepted his resignation with effect from 15 January, 1980.

I have also to inform the House that on 19 January, 1980, Lok Sabha Secretariat received a letter from Shrimati Indira Gandhi, an elected Member from Medak constituency of Andhra Pradesh and Rae Bareli constituency of Uttar Pradesh, resigning her seat in Lok Sabha from Rae Bareli constituency. The Speaker accepted her resignation with effect from 19 January, 1980.