MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER : The question is:

"That leave be granted to introduce a Bill further to amend the Constitution of India."

The motion was adopted.

भी भोगेन्द्र शा: मैं विधेयक को पूर:स्था-पित्त करता हं।

BIHAR LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (ABOLITION) BILL *

श्री भोगेन्द्र झा (जयनगर) : मैं प्रस्ताव करता हं कि बिहार राज्य की विधान परिषद के उत्पादन का तथा उसके अनुपूरक, मानुषंगिक भीर पारिसामिक विषयो का उपबंध करने वाले विधेयक को प्रःस्थापित करने की भन्मति दी जाए ।

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: The question is:

"That leave be granted to introduce a Bill to provide for the abolition of the Legislative Council of the State of Bihar and for matters supplemental, incidental and consequential thereto."

SHRI YAMUNA PRASAD MANDAL (Samastipur): I want to oppose it.

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: You have not given any prior notice to the Chair and besides I have put it to the House.

Let the lobbies be cleared,-Now the lobbies have been cleared,

THE MINISTER OF EDUCATION AND SOCIAL WELFARE AND MINIS-TER OF DEPARTMENT OF CULTURE (SIKSHA AUR SAMAJ KALYAN MAN-TRI AUR SANSKRITI VIBHAG MANTRI) (SHRI SIDDIIARTHA SHANKAR RAY); Sir, may I point out a constitutional difficulty and a constitutional defect with regard to this Bill? As this Bill is out of order.....

DEPUTY-SPEAKLR : Order. please. I will explain to you the procedure. Kindly sit down, When a Bill is given notice of for introduction, it is open to any Member to give a notice in writing to the Speaker that he wants to oppose the introduction of the Bill. There is no scope for any discussion at this stage, and therefore, I am sorry I cannot entertain any discussion now. (Interruption) It should have been done before, by giving notice. Anyway, I put it to the House. The question is:

"That leave be granted to introduce a Bill to provide for the abolition of the Legislative Council of the State of Bihar and for matters supplemental, incidental and consequential thereto."

SHRI ATAL BIHARI VAJYAPEE (Gwalio1): Sir, let the House not be divided on this.

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: That is for the House to decide.

SHRI ATAL BIHARI VAJPAYEE: Just now you have established a precedent that no Bill should be opposed at the introduction stage.

THE MINISTER OF PARLIAMEN-TARY AFFAIRS AND SHIPPING AND TRANSPORT (SANSADIYA KARYA TATHA NAUWAHAN AUR PARIWA-IIAN MANIRI) (SHRI RAJ BAHA-DUR): The point is, constitutionally the Bill cannot be brought unless and until the conditions are satisfied. (Interruptions)

Published in Gazette of India Extraordinary, Part II, section 2, dated 28-5-71,

DEPUTY-SPEAKER : Order, appeal has been made; the orger. An appeal has been heard. Now, it is for the house .u decide. I am putting it to the Louise. The question is :

"That leave be granted to introduce a Bill to provide for the abolition of the Legislative Council of the State of Bihar and for metters supplemental, incidental and consequential thereto.

The Lok Sabha divided:

Division No. 1]

14.25 hrs.

MAY 28, 1971

AYES

Baperjee, Shri S. M.

Bhattacharyya, Shri Dinen

Bhaura, Shri B. S.

Bosu, Shri Jyotirmoy

Brahman, Shri Rattan Lal

Chatterjee, Shri Somnath

Chaudhary, Shri Ishwar

Deb. Shri Dassaratha

Gupta, Shri Indrajit

Harra, Shri Manoranjan

Jha, Shri Bhogendra

Joshi, Shri Jagannathrao

Maran, Shri Murasoli

Melkote, Dr.

Modak, Shri B. K.

Mukherjee, Shri Saroj

Pandey, Dr. Lazminarain

Roy, Dr. Saradish

Sezbiyan, Shri

Shastri, Shri Ramayatar

Shastri, Shri Shiv Kumai

* Siddayya, Shri S. M.

Vappayee, Shri Atal Bihail.

NOES

Asgar Hussain, Shri

Austin, Dr Henry

Barman, Shri R. N.

Barupal, Shri P L.

Chandrashekherappa, Shri T. V.

Chaudhary, Shri Nitira; Singh

Chaudhury, Shri Amarsingh

Chellachami, Shri

Daschowdhury, Shri B. K.

Dec. Shri S. N Singh

Gopai, Shri K.

Kuiles, Dr.

Kale, Shrl

Kamble, Shri T. D.

Kaul, Shrimati Sheila

Kavde, Shri B. R.

Laskar, Shri Nihar

^{*} Wrongly voted for Ayes,

Lutfal Hague, Shri Mahajan, Shri V.S. Malhotra, Shri Inder J. Mandal, Shri Yamuna Prasad Mishra, Shri Bibhuti Mohammad Tahir, Shri Mohammad Yusuf, Shri Mohsin, Shri Oraon, Shri Kartik Pandey, Shri R. S. Pandey, Shri Tarkeshwar l'anigrabi, Shri Chintamani Patil, 5hri S. B. Patil, Shrt T. A. Raj Bahadur, Shra Ramkanwar, Shri Ramshekhar Prasad Singh, Shii Raut, Shri Bhola Rudra Pratap Singh, Shri

Sanghi, Shri N. K.

Sayeed, Shri P. M. Shambku Nath, Shri Shankaranand, Shri B.
Sbarma, Shri N. K.
Sharma, Shri N. K.
Sharma, Shri R. N.
Shastri, Shri Shivpujan
Shukla, Shri B. R.
Siddayya, Shri S. M.
Sonar, Dr. A. G.
Suryanarayana, Shri K.
Swamy, Shri Sidrameshwar
Ilwary, Shri Sidrameshwar
Ilwary, Shri K. N.
Tombi Singh, Shri N.
Yadav, Shri N. P.
Zulfiquar Ali Khan, Shii

MR. DLPUTY-SPEAKER: The result*
of the division is as follows:

Ayes 53; Noes 106.

The motion was negatived.

Ayes: Sarvashii Ram Deo Singh, Shiv Shanker Prasad Yadav, M. M. Joseph, Varkey George, J.B. Dhote Bishwanath Jhunjhunwala, Onkar Lal Berna, Rana Bahadar Singh, D. N. Singh, K. Ramakrishna Reddy, Samar Mukherjee, R. V Bade, Muthuswamy, Hamendra Singh Banera, Phool Chand Verma, D. K. Panda, Krishna Halder, Hukam Chand Kachwal, Bharat Singh Chauhan, S. P. Bhattachaiyya, Biren Dutta, C. K. Chinnsraji, Shrimati Bibha Ghosh, Sarvashri R. P. Ulaganambi, J. M. Gowder, C. Janardhanan, Jagadish Bhattachaiyya, Gadadher Saha, T. S. Lukshmanan, Madhuryya Haldar and A. K. Saha.

Noes: Sarvashri Siddhartha Shankar Ray, Sher Singh, Bedabrata Barua, Ankineedu, P. Gangadeb, P. R. Das Munsi, A. N. Chawla, Kumar Majhi, Shrimati Sahodrabai Rai, Sarvashri Karan Singh Yadav, Popatlal Joshi, K. Basappa, Krishnarao Patil, R. B. Paswan, Mohan Dharia, Satish Chandra, A. K. Kotrashatu, J. N. Mandal, E. V. Vikhe Ratil, Robin Kakoti, Tarun Gogoi, Mani Ram Godara, Gajadhar Majhi, M. Ram Gopal Reddy, K. K. Rami Reddy, R. D. Bhandare, Appalanaidu, Bhuvarahan, H. K. L. Bhagat, R. P. Yadav, Sanjeevi Rao, Arvind Netam, L. K. Dumada, Dhamankar, Jagaquath Mishra, Pampan Gowda, B. V. Naik, Dinesh Chandra Goswami, Tuna Oraon, R. V. Swamipaihan, Ram Surat Prasad, M. T. Raju, T. Sohan Lai, P. Venkata Reddy, Ramubhai Patel, Chandra Chawda, Ramashabaib, T. Bajakrishnish, N. Shiveppa, Shaqkar Dayai Singh, Damodar Panday, Lakishni Narayap, Hiraiai Doda and Chaklashwar Singh,

^{*} The result announced includes the names of the following Members who recorded their votes through Tellers: