2229

LOK SABHA

Tuesday, 28th May, 1957

The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock

[Mr. Speaker in the Chair]

MEMBER SWORN

Shri Koyilat Nallakoya (Nominated—Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindive Islands.)

ORAL ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS

All-India Service of Irrigation and Power Engineers

*437. Shri L. N. Mishra: Will the Minister of Irrigation and Power be pleased to state the present position of the proposal to have an All-India Service of Irrigation and Power Engineers?

The Minister of Irrigation and Power (Shri S. K. Patil): No final decision has yet been taken on the formation of the proposed All-India Service of Irrigation and Power Engineers.

Shri L. N. Mishra: May I know whether all the Chief Ministers of States have supported the proposal, or some chief Ministers are opposed to the proposal?

Shri S. K. Patil: Several States have agreed to it. The number is 6. Eight of them are opposed to it. Five tre yet indifferent; out of them, two have again signified their assent to it. Therefore, the question is still under consideration.

Shri L. N. Mishra: May I know whether, in view of the unanimous recommendations made by the Coordination Board of Ministers and also perhaps by the Union Government, it will be possible to create this Service within a year or so?

Shri S. K. Patil: It is difficult for me to give any exact time, but we are doing everything in our power to see that the States who do not agree with us just now are brought round so that they also see the necessity of such a Service.

Shri L. N. Mishra: May I know how co-ordination between the All-India Service of Engineers and the persons to be employed in the proposed central pool of engineers is to be maintained?

Shri S. K. Patil: Of course, for the time being, until such a Service is created, there is another proposal of having a pool on which we are working. But that is not a permanent solution. The permanent solution is the Service and we shall try to have it.

Sardar Iqbal Singh: May I know the names of the States which have agreed to this proposal and those which have not?

Shri S. K. Patil: The States that have agreed are Bihar, Punjab, Rajasthan, PEPSU, Manipur and Orissa. Those that have not agreed are Bombay, West Bengal, Madhya Bharat, Madras, Mysore, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Coorg. Those that are under consideration are Andhra, Assam, Travancore-Cochin, Hyderabad and Saurashtra. Andhra and Assam have since signified their assent.

Shri Gajendra Prasad Sinha: The hon. Minister said that 8 of the Chief Ministers have opposed this. May I know what were the reasons given by them in opposing this?